Prelude to the Easter Rising of 1916

Prelude to the Easter Rising of 1916
The Signatories of the Proclamation

Search This Blog

Saturday, April 9, 2011

Members of the Fourth Dáil - Batt O'Connor

Bartholomew "Batt" O'Connor (died 7 February 1935) was an Irish Cumann na nGaedhael Party politician (later Fine Gael), and TD for Dublin County from 1924–1935. O'Connor was involved with the revolutionary Sinn Féin party during the time of the First Dáil. He took the pro-treaty side during the subsequent split over the Anglo-Irish treaty signed by Michael Collins. O'Connor was an unsuccessful candidate for Dáil Éireann at the 1923 general election, in the 8-seat Dublin County constituency. After the death in November 1923 of Cumann na nGaedhael TD Michael Derham, O'Connor was selected as the Cumann na nGaedhael candidate at the Dublin County by-election on 19 March 1924, when he was elected to the 4th Dáil. He retained his seat at the next four general elections, joining Fine Gael when Cumann na nGaedhael merged in 1933 with the National Centre Party and the Blueshirts. After his death on 7 February 1935, the 1935 Dublin County by-election was won for Fine Gael by Cecil Lavery.

No comments:

Post a Comment