Prelude to the Easter Rising of 1916

Prelude to the Easter Rising of 1916
The Signatories of the Proclamation

Search This Blog

Saturday, February 11, 2012

The Ninth Dáil

This is a list of the members who were elected to the 9th Dáil Éireann, the lower house of the Oireachtas (legislature) of the Irish Free State. These TDs (Members of Parliament) were elected at the 1937 general election on 1 July 1937 and met on 21 July 1937. The 9th Dáil was dissolved on 27 May 1938. The 9th Dáil lasted 351 days. There were no by-elections during the 9th Dáil.

The list of the 138 TDs elected, is given in alphabetical order by constituency.

Members of the 9th Dáil Constituency Name Party

Matthew Davis Fianna Fáil
Seán Mac Eoin Fine Gael
James Victory Fianna Fáil

Thomas Harris Fianna Fáil
Francis Humphreys Fianna Fáil
Sydney Minch Fine Gael
William Norton Labour Party

John Cole Independent
Patrick McGovern Fine Gael
Michael Sheridan Fianna Fáil
Paddy Smith Fianna Fáil

Patrick Burke Fine Gael
Thomas Burke Independent
Éamon de Valera Fianna Fáil
Seán O'Grady Fianna Fáil
Patrick Hogan Labour Party

Cork Borough
Richard Anthony Independent
W. T. Cosgrave Fine Gael
Thomas Dowdall Fianna Fáil
Hugo Flinn Fianna Fáil

Cork North
Patrick Daly Fine Gael
Timothy Linehan Fine Gael
Con Meaney Fianna Fáil
Seán Moylan Fianna Fáil

Cork South East
Brook Brasier Fine Gael
Martin Corry Fianna Fáil
Jeremiah Hurley Labour Party

Cork West
Timothy J. Murphy Labour Party
Timothy O'Donovan Fine Gael
Daniel O'Leary Fine Gael
Eamonn O'Neill Fine Gael
Timothy O'Sullivan Fianna Fáil

Donegal East
Neal Blaney Fianna Fáil
John Friel Fianna Fáil
Daniel McMenamin Fine Gael
James Myles Independent

Donegal West
Brian Brady Fianna Fáil
Cormac Breslin Fianna Fáil
Michael Óg McFadden Fine Gael

Dublin County
Seán Brady Fianna Fáil
Henry Dockrell Fine Gael
Patrick Fogarty Fianna Fáil
Cecil Lavery Fine Gael
Gerrard McGowan Labour Party

Dublin North East
Alfred Byrne Independent
James Larkin Independent
Oscar Traynor Fianna Fáil

Dublin North West
Cormac Breathnach Fianna Fáil
Alfred P. Byrne Independent
Archibald Heron Labour Party
Patrick McGilligan Fine Gael
Seán T. O'Kelly Fianna Fáil

Dublin South
Robert Briscoe Fianna Fáil
Peadar Doyle Fine Gael
Joseph Hannigan Independent
Thomas Kelly Fianna Fáil
Myles Keogh Fine Gael
Thomas Lawlor Labour Party
Seán Lemass Fianna Fáil

Dublin Townships
Ernest Benson Fine Gael
John A. Costello Fine Gael
Seán MacEntee Fianna Fáil

Galway East
Patrick Beegan Fianna Fáil
Seán Broderick Fine Gael
Frank Fahy Ceann Comhairle
Mark Killilea, Snr Fianna Fáil

Galway West
Gerald Bartley Fianna Fáil
Joseph Mongan Fine Gael
Seán Tubridy Fianna Fáil

Kerry North
Stephen Fuller Fianna Fáil
Eamonn Kissane Fianna Fáil
Tom McEllistrim Fianna Fáil
John O'Sullivan Fine Gael

Kerry South
Frederick Crowley Fianna Fáil
John Flynn Fianna Fáil
Fionán Lynch Fine Gael

Denis Gorey Fine Gael
Thomas Derrig Fianna Fáil
James Pattison Labour Party

Stephen Flynn Fianna Fáil
Bernard Maguire Fianna Fáil
Mary Reynolds Fine Gael

Patrick Boland Fianna Fáil
William Davin Labour Party
Jack Finlay Fine Gael
Patrick Gorry Fianna Fáil
Thomas F. O'Higgins Fine Gael

Daniel Bourke Fianna Fáil
George C. Bennett Fine Gael
Michael Colbert Fianna Fáil
Michael Keyes Labour Party
Donnchadh Ó Briain Fianna Fáil
John O'Shaughnessy Fine Gael
Robert Ryan Fianna Fáil

Frank Aiken Fianna Fáil
James Coburn Fine Gael
Laurence Walsh Fianna Fáil

Mayo North
Patrick Browne Fine Gael
John Munnelly Fianna Fáil
P. J. Ruttledge Fianna Fáil

Mayo South
Micheál Clery Fianna Fáil
James FitzGerald-Kenney Fine Gael
Edward Moane Fianna Fáil
Martin Nally Fine Gael
Richard Walsh Fianna Fáil

Charles Fagan Fine Gael
Patrick Giles Fine Gael
James Kelly Fianna Fáil
Michael Kennedy Fianna Fáil
Matthew O'Reilly Fianna Fáil

James Dillon Fine Gael
Eamon Rice Fianna Fáil
Conn Ward Fianna Fáil

Gerald Boland Fianna Fáil
Michael Brennan Fine Gael
Daniel O'Rourke Fianna Fáil

Frank Carty Fianna Fáil
Martin Roddy Fine Gael
Patrick Rogers Fine Gael

Dan Breen Fianna Fáil
Séamus Burke Fine Gael
Andrew Fogarty Fianna Fáil
Daniel Morrissey Fine Gael
William X. O'Brien Labour Party
Martin Ryan Fianna Fáil
Jeremiah Ryan Fine Gael

Patrick Little Fianna Fáil
Michael Morrissey Fianna Fáil
Bridget Redmond Fine Gael
Nicholas Wall Fine Gael

Denis Allen Fianna Fáil
Richard Corish Labour Party
John Esmonde Fine Gael
John Keating Fine Gael
James Ryan Fianna Fáil

James Everett Labour Party
Séamus Moore Fianna Fáil
Dermot O'Mahony Fine Gael

No comments:

Post a Comment