Prelude to the Easter Rising of 1916

Prelude to the Easter Rising of 1916
The Signatories of the Proclamation

Search This Blog

Saturday, May 5, 2012

Members of the Tenth Dáil - Patrick Cogan

Patrick Cogan (23 October 1903 – 5 January 1977) was an Irish politician.

He lived at Tobinstown in County Carlow and was a member of Carlow County Council for 33 years. Cogan was first elected to the County Council in 1934 as a Fine Gael candidate. A farmer by profession, he was first elected to Dáil Éireann at the 1938 general election as an independent Teachta Dála (TD) for the Wicklow constituency.

At the 1943 general election, he was elected as a Clann na Talmhan TD for Wicklow and he was re-elected at the 1944 general election. He was deputy leader of the party for a time but left Clann na Talmhan in 1946 and at the 1948 general election he was again elected as an independent TD.

Having joined Fianna Fáil, he lost his seat at the 1954 general election. He was subsequently elected to the 8th Seanad on the Agricultural Panel as a Fianna Fáil member. He was defeated at the 1957 Seanad election.

No comments:

Post a Comment