Prelude to the Easter Rising of 1916

Prelude to the Easter Rising of 1916
The Signatories of the Proclamation

Search This Blog

Saturday, October 22, 2011

The Eighth Dáil

This is a list of the members who were elected to the 8th Dáil Éireann, the lower house of the Oireachtas (legislature) of the Irish Free State. These TDs (Members of Parliament) were elected at the 1933 general election on 24 January 1933 and met on 8 February 1933. The 8th Dáil was dissolved on 14 June 1937. The 8th Dáil lasted 1,619 days.

The list of the 153 TDs elected, is given in alphabetical order by constituency.

Members of the 8th Dáil:

Constituency Name Party

Desmond FitzGerald Cumann na nGaedheal
Seán Gibbons Fianna Fáil
Richard Holohan National Centre Party
Thomas Derrig Fianna Fáil
James Pattison Labour Party

Patrick McGovern National Centre Party
John Joe O'Reilly Cumann na nGaedheal
Michael Sheridan Fianna Fáil
Paddy Smith Fianna Fáil

Patrick Burke Cumann na nGaedheal
Éamon de Valera Fianna Fáil
Patrick Hogan Labour Party
Patrick Houlihan Fianna Fáil
Seán O'Grady Fianna Fáil

Cork Borough
Richard Anthony Independent
W. T. Cosgrave Cumann na nGaedheal
William Desmond Cumann na nGaedheal
Thomas Dowdall Fianna Fáil
Hugo Flinn Fianna Fáil

Cork East
William Broderick Cumann na nGaedheal
Martin Corry Fianna Fáil
Patrick Daly Cumann na nGaedheal
William Kent National Centre Party
Patrick Murphy Fianna Fáil

Cork North
Daniel Corkery Fianna Fáil
Seán Moylan Fianna Fáil
Daniel O'Leary Cumann na nGaedheal

Cork West
James Burke Cumann na nGaedheal
Tom Hales Fianna Fáil
Timothy J. Murphy Labour Party
Timothy O'Donovan National Centre Party
Eamonn O'Neill Cumann na nGaedheal

Neal Blaney Fianna Fáil
Brian Brady Fianna Fáil
James Dillon National Centre Party
Hugh Doherty Fianna Fáil
Michael Óg McFadden Cumann na nGaedheal
Daniel McMenamin Cumann na nGaedheal
James Myles Independent
Joseph O'Doherty Fianna Fáil

Dublin County
John A. Costello Cumann na nGaedheal
Seán Brady Fianna Fáil
Henry Dockrell Cumann na nGaedheal
John Good Independent
Seán MacEntee Fianna Fáil
Batt O'Connor Cumann na nGaedheal
Gearóid O'Sullivan Cumann na nGaedheal
Margaret Mary Pearse Fianna Fáil

Dublin North
Patrick Belton Cumann na nGaedheal
Cormac Breathnach Fianna Fáil
Alfred Byrne Independent
Eamonn Cooney Fianna Fáil
Richard Mulcahy Cumann na nGaedheal
Seán T. O'Kelly Fianna Fáil
Vincent Rice Cumann na nGaedheal
Oscar Traynor Fianna Fáil

Dublin South
James Beckett Cumann na nGaedheal
Robert Briscoe Fianna Fáil
Peadar Doyle Cumann na nGaedheal
Thomas Kelly Fianna Fáil
Seán Lemass Fianna Fáil
James Lynch Fianna Fáil
James McGuire Cumann na nGaedheal

Dublin University
Ernest Alton Independent
James Craig Independent
William Thrift Independent

Gerald Bartley Fianna Fáil
Patrick Beegan Fianna Fáil
Seán Broderick Cumann na nGaedheal
Frank Fahy Ceann Comhairle
Patrick Hogan Cumann na nGaedheal
Stephen Jordan Fianna Fáil
Séamus Keely Fianna Fáil
Mark Killilea, Snr Fianna Fáil
Martin McDonogh Cumann na nGaedheal

Frederick Crowley Fianna Fáil
John Flynn Fianna Fáil
Eamonn Kissane Fianna Fáil
Fionán Lynch Cumann na nGaedheal
Tom McEllistrim Fianna Fáil
Denis Daly Fianna Fáil
John O'Sullivan Cumann na nGaedheal

Thomas Harris Fianna Fáil
Sydney Minch Cumann na nGaedheal
William Norton Labour Party

William Browne Fianna Fáil
Frank Carty Fianna Fáil
James Dolan Cumann na nGaedheal
Stephen Flynn Fianna Fáil
Bernard Maguire Fianna Fáil
Martin Roddy Cumann na nGaedheal
Patrick Rogers National Centre Party

Patrick Boland Fianna Fáil
William Davin Labour Party
Eamon Donnelly Fianna Fáil
Jack Finlay National Centre Party
Thomas F. O'Higgins Cumann na nGaedheal

George C. Bennett Cumann na nGaedheal
Daniel Bourke Fianna Fáil
Tadhg Crowley Fianna Fáil
Michael Keyes Labour Party
Donnchadh Ó Briain Fianna Fáil
James Reidy Cumann na nGaedheal
Robert Ryan Fianna Fáil

Charles Fagan National Centre Party
James Geoghegan Fianna Fáil
Michael Kennedy Fianna Fáil
Seán Mac Eoin Cumann na nGaedheal
James Victory Fianna Fáil

Frank Aiken Fianna Fáil
James Coburn Independent
James Murphy Cumann na nGaedheal

Mayo North
Micheál Clery Fianna Fáil
Michael Davis Cumann na nGaedheal
James Morrisroe Cumann na nGaedheal
P. J. Ruttledge Fianna Fáil

Mayo South
James FitzGerald-Kenney Cumann na nGaedheal
Michael Kilroy Fianna Fáil
Edward Moane Fianna Fáil
Martin Nally Cumann na nGaedheal
Richard Walsh Fianna Fáil

Robert Davitt Cumann na nGaedheal
James Kelly Fianna Fáil
Matthew O'Reilly Fianna Fáil

Alexander Haslett Independent
Eamon Rice Fianna Fáil
Conn Ward Fianna Fáil

National University of Ireland
Helena Concannon Fianna Fáil
Conor Maguire Fianna Fáil
Patrick McGilligan Cumann na nGaedheal

Michael Brennan Cumann na nGaedheal
Gerald Boland Fianna Fáil
Frank MacDermot National Centre Party
Patrick O'Dowd Fianna Fáil

Dan Breen Fianna Fáil
Séamus Burke Cumann na nGaedheal
Richard Curran Natioal Centre Party
Andrew Fogary Fianna Fáil
Seán Hayes Fiana Fáil
Daniel Morrissey Independent
Martin Ryan Fianna Fáil

Seán Goulding Fianna Fáil
Patrick Little Fianna Fáil
Bridget Redmond Cumann na nGaedheal
Nicholas Wall National Centre Party

Richard Corish Labour Party
Osmond Esmonde Cumann na nGaedheal
John Keating Cumann na nGaedheal
Patrick Kehoe Fianna Fáil
James Ryan Fianna Fáil

James Everett Labour Part
Séamus Moore Fianna Fáil
Dermot O'Mahony Cumann na nGaedheal

Date Constituency Gain Loss Note
1933-10-13 13 October 1933 - Dublin University - Independent - Independent
Robert Rowlette (Ind) wins the seat vacated by the death of James Craig (Ind)

1935-06-17 17 June 1935 - Dublin County - Fine Gael - Fine Gael
Cecil Lavery (FG) holds the seat vacated by the death of Batt O'Connor (FG)

1935-06-19 19 June 1935 - Galway - Fianna Fáil - Fine Gael
Eamon Corbett (FF) wins the seat vacated by the death of Martin McDonogh (FG)

1936-08-13 13 August 1936 - Galway - Fianna Fáil - Fine Gael
Martin Neilan (FF) wins the seat vacated by the death of Patrick Hogan (FG)

1936-08-17 17 August 1936 - Wexford - Fianna Fáil - Fine Gael
Denis Allen (FF) wins the seat vacated by the death of Osmond Esmonde (FG)

No comments:

Post a Comment