Prelude to the Easter Rising of 1916

Prelude to the Easter Rising of 1916
The Signatories of the Proclamation

Search This Blog

Saturday, August 11, 2012

Members of the Thirteenth Dáil - Éamon Rooney

Éamon Rooney (died 9 November 1993) was an Irish Fine Gael party politician who served as a member of the Oireachtas (Irish Parliament) for twenty-one years.

Rooney first stood for election to Dáil Éireann at a by-election on 29 October 1947 in the Dublin County constituency, following the death of the Fianna Fáil Teachta Dála (TD) Patrick Fogarty. He was unsuccessful on that occasion, losing to the Clann na Poblachta candidate Seán MacBride, but was elected the following year at the 1948 general election, taking his seat in the 13th Dáil.

He was re-elected at the next four general elections, before losing his seat at the 1965 general election to Fianna Fáil's Desmond Foley, a 25-year-old gaelic football and hurling star. Rooney was then elected to the 11th Seanad on the Administrative Panel, where he sat until 1969. He stood again as a Dáil candidate at the 1969 general election, but lost again and retired from politics.

No comments:

Post a Comment