Prelude to the Easter Rising of 1916

Prelude to the Easter Rising of 1916
The Signatories of the Proclamation

Search This Blog

Saturday, August 4, 2012

Members of the Thirteenth Dáil - Seán Dunne

Sean Dunne

Seán Dunne (18 December 1918 – 25 June 1969) was an Irish Labour Party politician. He was a TD from 1948–1957 and from 1961–1969.

Dunne first stood for election to Dáil Éireann at the by-election held on 29 October 1947, following the death of Fianna Fáil TD Patrick Fogarty. He was placed last of four candidates, and the seat was won for the new Clann na Poblachta party by its leader Seán MacBride, who went on to become Minister for Foreign Affairs.

At the 1948 general election, Dunne stood again in the Dublin County constituency, which had been reduced in size and now had only 3 seats, rather than the previous five. He was elected without reaching the quota and took his seat in the 13th Dáil.

He was re-elected at the 1951 general election and again at the 1954 general election, but did not contest the 1957 general election. He stood again in Dublin County at the 1961 election as an independent candidate, when he was returned to the 17th Dáil. He held his seat at the 1965 general election, this time standing again as a Labour party candidate.

He died aged 51 on 25 June 1969, only seven days after being returned at the 1969 general election for the new Dublin South–West constituency, before he could sign the Roll in the 19th Dáil. The by-election for his seat was held on 4 March 1970 and won for Fianna Fáil by Seán Sherwin; the Labour candidate, Matt Merrigan lost by only 262 after Dunne's widow Cora stood as independent candidate.

No comments:

Post a Comment