Prelude to the Easter Rising of 1916

Prelude to the Easter Rising of 1916
The Signatories of the Proclamation

Search This Blog

Sunday, September 16, 2012

Members of the Thirteenth Dáil - William J. Murphy

 William J. Murphy

 William J. Murphy (born 17 May 1928) is a Irish former Labour Party politician.
He was elected as a Labour Party Teachta Dála (TD) for the Cork West constituency at the 1949 by-election on 15 June. Aged just 21 years and 29 days at the time, he is the youngest ever TD. He did not contest the 1951 general election.

Along with former Taoiseach and Fine Gael leader Liam Cosgrave, he is one of only two surviving members of the Oireachtas to have been elected in the 1940s.

No comments:

Post a Comment