Prelude to the Easter Rising of 1916

Prelude to the Easter Rising of 1916
The Signatories of the Proclamation

Search This Blog

Sunday, September 26, 2010

The Second Dáil

There were two elections in Ireland on 24 May 1921, as a result of the Government of Ireland Act 1920 to establish the House of Commons of Northern Ireland and the House of Commons of Southern Ireland. The election was used by Irish republicans as the basis of membership of the 2nd Dáil. The 2nd Dáil lasted 388 days.

The members who were elected as Sinn Féin candidates are listed below. 124 Sinn Féin candidates were returned unopposed from 26 geographic constituencies and the National University of Ireland constituency. The University of Dublin constituency returned four Independent Unionist candidates, also unopposed, but they refused to attend Dáil Éireann.

52 members elected from 9 geographic constituencies and the Queen's University of Belfast in Northern Ireland were also entitled to sit in the 2nd Dáil. Six Sinn Féin candidates were elected, 5 of whom had also been returned in the other part of Ireland. 40 Ulster Unionist Party and 5 Nationalist party (a remnant of the old Irish Parliamentary Party which had survived in Ulster) candidates were elected. One of the latter won two seats, making a total of six victories. They all refused to attend Dáil Éireann.

It was during the 2nd Dáil that the Anglo-Irish Treaty was debated. The treaty was ratified by the 2nd Dáil.

The list is given in alphabetical order by constituency. Those who attended Dáil Éireann called themselves Teachtaí Dála (TDs).

Members of the 2nd Dáil
Constituency Name Party
Armagh Michael Collins Sinn Féin
Carlow–Kilkenny Edward Aylward Sinn Féin
W. T. Cosgrave Sinn Féin
James Lennon Sinn Féin
Gearóid O'Sullivan Sinn Féin
Cavan Arthur Griffith Sinn Féin
Peter Galligan Sinn Féin
Seán Milroy Sinn Féin
Clare Brian O'Higgins Sinn Féin
Éamon de Valera Sinn Féin
Sean Liddy Sinn Féin
Patrick Brennan Sinn Féin
Cork Borough James J. Walsh Sinn Féin
Liam de Róiste Sinn Féin
Mary MacSwiney Sinn Féin
Daniel O'Callaghan Sinn Féin
Cork East and North East David Kent Sinn Féin
Thomas Hunter Sinn Féin
Séamus Fitzgerald Sinn Féin
Cork Mid, North, South, South East and West Seán MacSwiney Sinn Féin
Patrick O'Keeffe Sinn Féin
Michael Collins Sinn Féin
Daniel Corkery Sinn Féin
Seán Hales Sinn Féin
Seán Hayes Sinn Féin
Seán Moylan Sinn Féin
Seán Nolan Sinn Féin
Donegal Joseph O'Doherty Sinn Féin
Peter Ward Sinn Féin
Joseph Sweeney Sinn Féin
Patrick McGoldrick Sinn Féin
Joseph McGinley Sinn Féin
Samuel O'Flaherty Sinn Féin
Down Éamon de Valera Sinn Féin
Dublin County Michael Derham Sinn Féin
George Gavan Duffy Sinn Féin
Séamus Dwyer Sinn Féin
Desmond FitzGerald Sinn Féin
Frank Lawless Sinn Féin
Margaret Pearse Sinn Féin
Dublin Mid Seán T. O'Kelly Sinn Féin
Philip Shanahan Sinn Féin
Seán McGarry Sinn Féin
Kathleen Clarke Sinn Féin
Dublin North West Joseph McGrath Sinn Féin
Michael Staines Sinn Féin
Philip Cosgrave Sinn Féin
Richard Mulcahy Sinn Féin
Dublin South Constance Markiewicz Sinn Féin
Thomas Kelly Sinn Féin
Daniel McCarthy Sinn Féin
Cathal Ó Murchadha Sinn Féin
Fermanagh and Tyrone Arthur Griffith Sinn Féin
Seán Milroy Sinn Féin
Seán O'Mahony Sinn Féin
Galway Pádraic Ó Máille Sinn Féin
Liam Mellows Sinn Féin
Bryan Cusack Sinn Féin
Frank Fahy Sinn Féin
Patrick Hogan Sinn Féin
George Nicolls Sinn Féin
Joseph Whelehan Sinn Féin
Kerry–Limerick West Piaras Béaslaí Sinn Féin
Fionán Lynch Sinn Féin
Austin Stack Sinn Féin
Patrick Cahill Sinn Féin
Con Collins Sinn Féin
James Crowley Sinn Féin
Thomas O'Donoghue Sinn Féin
Edmund Roche Sinn Féin
Kildare–Wicklow Domhnall Ua Buachalla Sinn Féin
Robert Barton Sinn Féin
Christopher Byrne Sinn Féin
Art O'Connor Sinn Féin
Robert Erskine Childers Sinn Féin
Leitrim–Roscommon North Thomas Carter Sinn Féin
James Dolan Sinn Féin
Andrew Lavin Sinn Féin
Count Plunkett Sinn Féin
Leix–Offaly Patrick McCartan Sinn Féin
Joseph Lynch Sinn Féin
Francis Bulfin Sinn Féin
Kevin O'Higgins Sinn Féin
Limerick City–Limerick East Michael Colivet Sinn Féin
Richard Hayes Sinn Féin
William Hayes Sinn Féin
Kathleen O'Callaghan Sinn Féin
Londonderry Eoin MacNeill Sinn Féin
Longford–Westmeath Joseph McGuinness Sinn Féin
Lorcan Robbins Sinn Féin
Seán Mac Eoin Sinn Féin
Laurence Ginnell Sinn Féin
Louth–Meath John J. O'Kelly Sinn Féin
James Murphy Sinn Féin
Justin McKenna Sinn Féin
Peter Hughes Sinn Féin
Eamonn Duggan Sinn Féin
Mayo North and West John Crowley Sinn Féin
Thomas Derrig Sinn Féin
Joseph MacBride Sinn Féin
P. J. Ruttledge Sinn Féin
Mayo South–Roscommon South William Sears Sinn Féin
Tom Maguire Sinn Féin
Daniel O'Rourke Sinn Féin
Harry Boland Sinn Féin
Monaghan Ernest Blythe Sinn Féin
Seán MacEntee Sinn Féin
Eoin O'Duffy Sinn Féin
National University of Ireland Eoin MacNeill Sinn Féin
Ada English Sinn Féin
Michael Hayes Sinn Féin
William Stockley Sinn Féin
Sligo–Mayo East Frank Carty Sinn Féin
Alexander McCabe Sinn Féin
James Devins Sinn Féin
Francis Ferran Sinn Féin
Thomas O'Donnell Sinn Féin
Tipperary Mid, North and South Séamus Burke Sinn Féin
Joseph MacDonagh Sinn Féin
P. J. Moloney Sinn Féin
Patrick O'Byrne Sinn Féin
Waterford–Tipperary East Cathal Brugha Sinn Féin
Eamon Dee Sinn Féin
Frank Drohan Sinn Féin
Séamus Robinson Sinn Féin
Vincent White Sinn Féin
Wexford James Ryan Sinn Féin
Seán Etchingham Sinn Féin
Richard Corish Sinn Féin
Séamus Doyle Sinn Féin

The list is given in alphabetical order by constituency of the MPs who refused to be members of the 2nd Dáil.

Constituency Name Party
Antrim Milne Barbour Ulster Unionist
Robert Crawford Ulster Unionist
Joseph Devlin Nationalist (NI)
John Fawcett Gordon Ulster Unionist
George Boyle Hanna Ulster Unionist
Robert Megaw Ulster Unionist
Hugh O'Neill Ulster Unionist
Armagh Richard Best Ulster Unionist
John Dillon Nugent Nationalist (NI)
David Shillington Ulster Unionist
Belfast East Dawson Bates Ulster Unionist
Herbert Dixon Ulster Unionist
Thompson Donald Ulster Unionist
James Augustine Duff Ulster Unionist
Belfast North Lloyd Campbell Ulster Unionist
William Grant Ulster Unionist
Samuel McGuffin Ulster Unionist
Robert McKeown Ulster Unionist
Belfast South Crawford McCullagh Ulster Unionist
Julia McMordie Ulster Unionist
Thomas Moles Ulster Unionist
Hugh Pollock Ulster Unionist
Belfast West Thomas Henry Burn Ulster Unionist
Joseph Devlin Nationalist (NI)
Robert Lynn Ulster Unionist
William Twaddell Ulster Unionist
Dublin Universit Ernest Alton Independent Unionist
James Craig Independent Unionist
Gerald Fitzgibbon Independent Unionist
William Thrift Independent Unionist
Down J. M. Andrews Ulster Unionist
James Craig Ulster Unionist
Thomas Lavery Ulster Unionist
Robert McBride Ulster Unionist
Thomas McMullan Ulster Unionist
Harry Mulholland Ulster Unionist
Patrick O'Neill Nationalist (NI)
Fermanagh and Tyrone Edward Archdale Ulster Unionist
James Cooper Ulster Unionist
William Coote Ulster Unionist
Thomas Harbison Nationalist (NI)
William Thomas Miller Ulster Unionist
Londonderry Robert Anderson Ulster Unionist
Dehra Chichester Ulster Unionist
George Leeke Nationalist (NI)
John Martin Mark Ulster Unionist
Queen's University of Belfast John Campbell Ulster Unionist
Robert Johnstone Ulster Unionist
Hugh Morrison Ulster Unionist
John Hanna Robb Ulster Unionist