Prelude to the Easter Rising of 1916

Prelude to the Easter Rising of 1916
The Signatories of the Proclamation

Search This Blog

Sunday, August 8, 2010

Members of the First Dáil - Bryan Cusack

Bryan Cusack: Second Row: 4th from the right

Bryan Cusack (2 August 1882 – 24 May 1973) was an Irish Sinn Féin politician and medical doctor. He was elected as a Sinn Féin MP for Galway North at the 1918 general election. In January 1919, Sinn Féin MPs who had been elected in the Westminster elections of 1918 refused to recognise the Parliament of the United Kingdom and instead assembled at the Mansion House in Dublin as a revolutionary parliament called Dáil Éireann, though Cusack did not attend as he was in prison.

He was re-elected as a Sinn Féin Teachta Dála (TD) for the Galway constituency at the 1921 elections. He opposed the Anglo-Irish Treaty and voted against it. He was re-elected as an anti-Treaty Sinn Féin TD for Galway at the 1922 general election but did not take his seat in Dáil Éireann. He did not contest the 1923 general election. He became a founder member of Fianna Fáil in 1926 and stood unsuccessfully for the party in Galway at the June 1927 general election. He did not contest any more elections and he resumed his medical career.

No comments:

Post a Comment