Prelude to the Easter Rising of 1916

Prelude to the Easter Rising of 1916
The Signatories of the Proclamation

Search This Blog

Saturday, August 14, 2010

Members of the First Dáil - Séamus Burke

Séamus Burke: Third Row: Second from the Right

Seamus Aloysius Burke (1893-1967) was born in County Tipperary on June 14, 1893. Politicised after the events of the Easter Rising he was elected unopposed as a Sinn Féin MP for the constituency of Tipperary Mid. Burke was re-elected at each subsequent election for Sinn Féin, Pro-Treaty Sinn Féin, Cumann na nGaedheal and Fine Gael until 1938.

Re-elected in the 1921 General Election, he supported the Anglo-Irish Treaty. In 1923 he was appointed Minister for Local Government and Public Health, though was a non-member of the Executive Council. From 1927 to 1932 he was Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Finance.

Following the Fianna Fáil election victory in the 1932 General Election he entered the opposition benches. Following his defeat in the 1938 General Election he retired from politics. He continued with his legal career as he was a barrister-at-law. He died on New Year’s Day, 1967.

No comments:

Post a Comment